Best Large-Capacity Dishwasher 2026: Third Racks and Room for Big Families

When you buy through the Amazon links on this page, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Learn more

Last updated October 31, 2026

The Kenmore Elite 2214685 is the best large-capacity dishwasher for most big households: 15 place settings carried by a TurboFlex third rack that adds 35% more space and slides aside for tall items, plus an adjustable upper rack, at 42 dB. A standard 24-inch built-in in the US now reaches 17 place settings, and the machines that get there do it through rack design, not a wider cabinet opening.

The best large-capacity dishwashers of 2026

#1 Stainless steel built-in dishwasher with a closed door, a long horizontal handle and a front control strip

Kenmore Elite 2214685 dishwasher

$1,259.99 as of 10/31 ★ 3.4 (20+ ratings)
See on Amazon

Model comparison

Model Price Rating CapacityWeightNoise level Best for
Stainless steel built-in dishwasher with a closed door, a long horizontal handle and a front control strip Kenmore Elite 2214685 dishwasher $1,259.99 as of 10/31 See on Amazon ★ 3.4 (20+ ratings) 15 place settings90.4 lb42 dB Large households that want proof the cycle is running get a green floor light plus room for 15 place settings.
Stainless steel built-in dishwasher front view with top handle and touch panel controls Sharp SDY6768SMS dishwasher $729.99 as of 10/31 See on Amazon ★ 4.5 (2 ratings) 16 place settings90.4 lb44 dBA Households that want to pick their drying method per load get both heated dry and an auto door open feature.
Fingerprint resistant stainless steel built-in dishwasher with horizontal handle and top control panel, closed Kenmore 2214625 dishwasher $944.99 as of 10/31 See on Amazon ★ 3.0 (50+ ratings) 15 place settings90.4 lb49 dB Shoppers wanting fan-and-heater drying in a 24-inch built-in get TurboDry plus a selectable Extra Dry option at 49 dB.
Built-in dishwasher front view with top digital control panel and a long horizontal handle Kostch KOS-24DWH06H dishwasher $999.00 as of 10/31 See on Amazon ★ 5.0 (3 ratings) 15 place settings82.7 lb45 dB Big families needing a third rack get 15 place settings and three spray arms in a published install envelope.
Panel ready built-in dishwasher front view with a smooth flat door and concealed top controls DFI776XXLSOF dishwasher $1,298.00 as of 10/31 See on Amazon not stated 17 place settings100 lbnot stated Households on hard water needing three racks get a built-in water softener plus ten spray zones across two spray arms.

What large capacity actually means in place settings

Every US capacity rating uses the same unit: the AHAM place setting. One place setting is 11 items: a dinner plate, a bread-and-butter plate, a saucer, a fruit bowl, a cup, an iced-tea glass, a dinner fork, a salad fork, a knife and two teaspoons. The standard counts six serving pieces alongside the place settings: two serving bowls, a platter, a serving fork and two serving spoons.

The legal line between a standard and a compact machine runs through that count, not through the cabinet width. A standard dishwasher is rated at 8 or more place settings plus the six serving pieces. Below that it is a compact, whatever its outside dimensions.

Why the rated number and the real load disagree

The rating assumes uniform, standard-size pieces loaded to a set pattern. Real loads are not uniform. A 10½-inch dinner plate, a tall pasta bowl, a travel mug, a sheet pan and a stockpot all take space the pattern did not budget for, and the usable shortfall runs on the order of 10 to 15%. A machine rated at 16 settings is realistically a 13 or 14-setting machine on a mixed family load, which is still the roomiest thing you can put in a 24-inch opening.

How many place settings does your household need?

The table below assumes one full load a day. The second column covers households that run the machine every other day, where the daily load is roughly 1.5 times the household size and the alternate-day load roughly twice it.

HouseholdDaily loadEvery other day
1 to 2 people6 to 9 settings9 to 12 settings
3 to 4 people9 to 12 settings12 to 16 settings
5 or more people12 or more settings15 to 16 settings

Anchor the top of that table at 12 settings minimum for five or more people, and 15 to 16 if the household cooks from scratch and entertains. A 15 or 16-setting tub is one dinner for six to eight people plus the pots, in a single cycle.

Where the extra room comes from in a large tub

The cabinet cutout is fixed: 24 inches wide, about 24 inches deep and about 34 inches high on a standard US install. You cannot buy more width. Every capacity gain in this category is made inside the same box, and the levers that create it are not equal.

The levers that create usable volume

  • Tub depth. Deeper tubs run from roughly 21 to 26¾ inches front to back. Depth adds interior volume, but it is not the same thing as place-setting count.
  • Door angle and door thickness. A thin, fully integrated door and a door that folds flat give back inches at the front of the lower basket, which is where sheet pans and platters live.
  • Tine spacing and fold-down tines. Wide, foldable tines let a basket hold either many plates or a few stockpots. Fixed narrow tines hold plates well and pots badly.
  • Upper-rack height adjustment. A basket that drops or rises through two or three positions lets the same tub take a tall stockpot below or tall glasses above, on demand.
  • Third-rack clearance. A shallow third rack costs the upper basket almost nothing. A deep one costs it real height.

Place settings and cubic feet measure different things

Place-setting count and cubic-foot volume are different metrics and they disagree. A machine can be rated at 16 settings in a tub under 24 inches deep while another claims the largest usable volume in the market at 7.25 cubic feet in a tub nearly 27 inches deep. Neither number is wrong. Compare place settings first, because that figure is standardized and comparable across brands, and treat cubic feet as a secondary, self-reported claim.

Third racks and what they can and cannot hold

Third racks come in two kinds, and the difference decides whether you gain capacity or just organization.

A flat utensil tray

A flat tray holds forks, knives, spoons, ramekins, long knives, lids, chopsticks and small spatulas. It reorganizes the load and frees the lower cutlery basket, but it adds little true capacity.

A deep, jet-equipped third rack

A deep rack has its own spray arm and enough depth for 6-inch glasses, coffee mugs and small bowls. This one adds capacity, because those items would otherwise occupy the upper basket.

Either way, a third rack realistically fits utensils, ramekins, long knives, spatula heads, lids and small cups, plus mugs and short glasses on the deep versions. It does not fit dinner plates, cereal bowls or anything tall.

The height it takes from the basket below

On some machines the third rack and the second rack sit close enough that tall items no longer fit in the upper basket. A shallow third rack plus a three-position adjustable upper basket is often the better combination for a household that loads tall glasses and stockpots.

There is a practical bonus too: a third rack removes the need for a lower cutlery basket, which frees the front-center of the lower basket, the best real estate in the tub for a wide pan. On the spec sheet, look for a stated added loading area (some deep third racks are quoted at 30 to 35% more space than a two-rack layout) and for dedicated jets in the third rack. A third rack with no jets and no depth is organization, not capacity.

Fitting a large dishwasher into a standard kitchen

A large-capacity built-in needs the same rough opening as any other 24-inch machine: 24 inches wide, 24 inches deep and 34 inches high. Many machines are 33⅞ inches tall and sit under a 34-inch counter. ADA-height installs use a 32-inch opening with an adjustable base spanning roughly 32 to 34 inches.

Depth, height and door swing

Product depth is where large tubs differ. They run from about 21 inches to 26¾ inches front to back, and the door plus handle adds a little more. A deep tub can stand proud of standard-depth cabinetry. Height adjustment matters under a slightly high counter: some machines adjust from about 33⅞ inches up to 35½ inches. For the door, budget roughly 47 to 50 inches of clear floor in front of the machine for a door that drops flat.

Measure the opening, not the old machine

Machines designed to sit flush with the cabinet face can protrude slightly where cabinets are shallow. Measure the rough opening rather than the dishwasher you are replacing, because the old unit may have been trimmed in or set on a raised floor.

An oversized tub still slides into a standard 24-inch cutout as long as depth and height clear. The width is fixed and every machine in this category is built to it. What changes is how far the tub reaches back and how much floor the door needs. A machine that needs a wider or taller space than 24 by 24 by 34 is not a standard built-in and does not belong in this category.

Loading a big tub without blocking the spray arms

Large tubs use two or three spray arms (top, upper and lower) plus, on some machines, dedicated bottle-wash nozzles or extra spray zones. Water reaches dishes on a line of sight from a jet. Anything that shades a jet starves everything behind it, and the bigger the tub, the more dishes sit behind the blockage.

The loading rules that protect the extra space

  • Sheet pans and cutting boards go on the edges and at the back, never flat across the middle of the lower basket where they cap the lower spray arm.
  • Pots and stockpots go face-down over the tines at the sides, not nested inside each other. Nesting hides surfaces from every jet.
  • Plates face the center, bowls and cups tilt down and toward a jet, and nothing tall stands directly over the center of the lower arm.
  • Use the adjustable upper rack to buy height where the load needs it, rather than forcing tall items into a gap.
  • Do not overload the third rack. A deep third rack packed with mugs blocks the top spray arm's reach into the upper basket.

Three loading patterns waste a big tub: a half-full machine run anyway, sheet pans laid flat, and bowls stacked inside one another. A large tub loaded badly holds less than a small tub loaded well.

When a large-capacity dishwasher is the wrong choice

One or two people generate a load every two or three days. A 15 or 16-setting tub run half-full uses more water and energy per dish than a smaller machine run full, and a big machine is at its most efficient only when it is full.

Small kitchens and tight layouts are the second case. A deep tub plus a flat-dropping door needs roughly four feet of clear floor. In a galley kitchen that floor space is the dining chair.

Some spaces only take an 18-inch machine. Where the cabinet run genuinely cannot give 24 inches, a slim built-in is the answer and this category is not.

Households that mostly wash glassware and light loads are a third case. Capacity is not their constraint, and a smaller tub with good racking is easier to load and cheaper to run.

Finally, anyone who would trade capacity for a quieter or faster machine should decide that first. Noise and cycle time are bought with insulation and pump design, not tub size. A large tub is not automatically louder, but it is not automatically quieter either, and the priority should be picked before the model.

Our picks by budget

The Sharp SDY6768SMS is the budget pick because it delivers 16 place settings, one short of the highest rating on the page, with a removable third rack and a three-level adjustable upper rack, plus auto door open drying.

The Kostch KOS-24DWH06H is the mid-range pick because it adds eight wash programs, three spray arms, a published install envelope and a three-year parts-and-labor warranty to a 15-setting tub.

The DFI776XXLSOF is the premium pick because it brings a water softener, ten spray zones, 15 wash cycles, a self-cleaning program, Aqua Safe leak protection and a panel-ready front that takes a cabinet-matched door.

Budget

Stainless steel built-in dishwasher front view with top handle and touch panel controls

Sharp SDY6768SMS dishwasher

$729.99 as of 10/31 ★ 4.5 (2 ratings)
See on Amazon

Mid-range

Built-in dishwasher front view with top digital control panel and a long horizontal handle

Kostch KOS-24DWH06H dishwasher

$999.00 as of 10/31 ★ 5.0 (3 ratings)
See on Amazon

High-end

Panel ready built-in dishwasher front view with a smooth flat door and concealed top controls

DFI776XXLSOF dishwasher

$1,298.00 as of 10/31
See on Amazon

Which large-capacity dishwasher for which buyer

The right machine for a big household depends less on the rating than on how you load and what your water and cabinetry demand.

Big household, simple loading

16 place settings, a removable third rack and an upper rack that adjusts through three height levels give the second-highest place settings count on the page. Auto door open drying finishes the job without a towel.

Our recommendation Stainless steel built-in dishwasher front view with top handle and touch panel controls

Sharp SDY6768SMS dishwasher

$729.99 as of 10/31 ★ 4.5 (2 ratings)
See on Amazon

Longest coverage on tub and racks

Lifetime coverage on the stainless tub and inner door panel, five years on the racks, two years on parts and one year on the appliance. The TurboFlex third rack adds 35% more space and slides aside for taller items.

Our recommendation Stainless steel built-in dishwasher with a closed door, a long horizontal handle and a front control strip

Kenmore Elite 2214685 dishwasher

$1,259.99 as of 10/31 ★ 3.4 (20+ ratings)
See on Amazon

Hard water at home

A built-in water softener keeps scale off the load and the interior, and ten spray zones across two spray arms cover a full load. A self-cleaning program handles the machine itself.

Our recommendation Panel ready built-in dishwasher front view with a smooth flat door and concealed top controls

DFI776XXLSOF dishwasher

$1,298.00 as of 10/31
See on Amazon

Non-standard opening or high counter

The height adjusts from 33⅞ to 35½ inches, the cutout is published at 24 inches wide, 23 inches deep and 35 inches high, and the door needs 47¼ inches of clear floor when open. You can plan the install before the machine arrives.

Our recommendation Built-in dishwasher front view with top digital control panel and a long horizontal handle

Kostch KOS-24DWH06H dishwasher

$999.00 as of 10/31 ★ 5.0 (3 ratings)
See on Amazon

Quiet running with a long tub warranty

15 place settings with a flexible adjustable rack, UL-certified Sani Rinse and SmartWash soil sensing, at 49 dB. Lifetime coverage on the stainless tub and inner door panel backs it up.

Our recommendation Fingerprint resistant stainless steel built-in dishwasher with horizontal handle and top control panel, closed

Kenmore 2214625 dishwasher

$944.99 as of 10/31 ★ 3.0 (50+ ratings)
See on Amazon

Our verdict on the best large-capacity dishwashers

The Kenmore Elite 2214685 is the overall pick because it pairs 15 place settings with the rack hardware that makes them usable: a TurboFlex third rack adding 35% more space that slides aside for tall items, a MoreSpace Plus adjustable rack, and 42 dB while it works. For warranty coverage and quiet over the last place setting, the Kenmore 2214625 brings lifetime tub coverage at 49 dB. The Sharp SDY6768SMS is the pick for a big household that wants simple loading, with 16 place settings, a removable third rack and an upper rack that adjusts through three height levels. The DFI776XXLSOF is the pick for hard water and for a panel-ready kitchen, and the Kostch KOS-24DWH06H suits an opening that is not a textbook 24 by 24 by 34. Compare place settings first, then check that the third rack is deep and jet-equipped, then check the cutout and door swing. Capacity you cannot fit or cannot load is capacity you did not buy.

Detailed model analysis

A place-setting rating only tells you what a machine can hold once you know which rack features carry it.

Kenmore Elite 2214685 dishwasher

The Kenmore Elite 2214685 dishwasher fits 15 place settings. Its TurboFlex third rack adds 35% more space for utensils and slides aside when you need room for taller items.

The MoreSpace Plus adjustable rack lets you rearrange the load. A cutlery basket and a wine glass holder are included.

It runs at 42 dBA with Quiet Wash. UltraWash Plus uses 3 pressurized spray arms and filtered water, SmartWash adjusts to the mess, and TurboDry handles drying. It is ENERGY STAR certified.

Leak detection, interior LED lighting and a green floor light are included, along with seven cycle options such as Half Load and Delay Start.

The warranty is lifetime on the stainless steel tub and inner door panel, 5 years on the racks, 2 years on parts and 1 year on the appliance.

It weighs 90.4 lb, against 82.7 lb for the Kostch KOS-24DWH06H dishwasher, and it runs on 115 V in a 24 in width. It suits large households that want a third rack.

  • Brand: Kenmore
  • Capacity: 15 place settings
  • Noise level: 42 dB
  • Dimensions: 24.61 in deep, 23.55 in wide and 33.88 in high
  • Weight: 90.4 lb
  • Voltage: 115 V

Sharp SDY6768SMS dishwasher

The Sharp SDY6768SMS gives you a removable third rack for cutlery and small items. The upper rack adjusts to 3 height levels, and you can take the third rack out when you load tall items.

Four bottle wash nozzles target bottles, and dual-stage filtration cleans the wash water. The tub is stainless steel, and touch controls sit on a top control panel.

Drying gives you a choice between a heated dry option and Auto Door Open drying. Cycles are Auto, Heavy Duty, Normal, Light, Express and Rinse Only, with interior LED lighting and a status indicator.

It runs at 44 dBA, 2 dBA louder than the Kenmore Elite 2214685 dishwasher. Energy use is 240 kWh per year. It weighs 90.4 lb and runs on 120 V.

The main limit is the warranty, at 1 year limited. The Kostch KOS-24DWH06H dishwasher gets 3 years on parts and labor.

This model suits households that want to pick heated dry or Auto Door Open load by load.

  • Brand: Sharp
  • Capacity: 16 place settings
  • Noise level: 44 dBA
  • Dimensions: 25.5 in deep, 23.88 in wide and 33.75 in high
  • Weight: 90.4 lb
  • Voltage: 120 V

Kenmore 2214625 dishwasher

The Kenmore 2214625 dishwasher puts drying first. TurboDry combines a fan and a heating element, and you can also select Extra Dry.

It fits 15 place settings on a flexible adjustable rack. Three pressurized spray arms and filtered water clean the load, with no pre-rinse needed. SmartWash adjusts settings to soil levels, and a UL Certified Sani Rinse option is included.

You get 14 cycles and options, including Express, Quick Rinse, Half Load, Pots/Pans, Delicate, Heavy Duty and Light Wash, for mixed loads of glassware, pots, tall dishes and delicate china.

Quiet Wash is on board, but the noise figure is 49 dB, higher than the 42 dBA of the Kenmore Elite 2214685 dishwasher and the 45 dBA of the Kostch KOS-24DWH06H dishwasher.

Leak detection and ENERGY STAR certification are included. The appliance warranty is 1 year, against 3 years on parts and labor for the Kostch KOS-24DWH06H dishwasher, with lifetime coverage on the stainless steel tub and inner door panel.

It weighs 90.4 lb on a 115 V supply. It suits shoppers who want fan-and-heater drying in a 24 in built-in and can accept 49 dB.

  • Brand: Kenmore
  • Capacity: 15 place settings
  • Noise level: 49 dB
  • Voltage: 115 V
  • Weight: 90.4 lb
  • Dimensions: 24.61 in deep, 23.55 in wide and 33.88 in high

Kostch KOS-24DWH06H dishwasher

The Kostch KOS-24DWH06H is built around loading flexibility. It fits 15 place settings and has a third-layer cutlery basket, a height-adjustable upper basket and a wine glass bracket.

Three spray arms at the top, upper and lower levels cover the load. Eight wash programs include Auto, Heavy, Eco, Normal, Express, Rinse, Delicate and Lightning. Delay Start, Hi-Temp, Half Load and Open Dry are selectable.

It runs at 45 dBA and is ENERGY STAR, UL and DOE certified. That is quieter than the Kenmore 2214625 at 49 dB, but louder than the Kenmore Elite 2214685 at 42 dBA.

It weighs 82.7 lb, the lightest of the ranked machines. The warranty covers parts and labor for 3 years, the longest term among them.

The unit is 23.875 in wide and its height adjusts from 33.875 in to 35.5 in. The install opening is 24 in wide, 35 in high and 23 in deep. A 59 in drain hose is included.

It suits big families that want a third rack and three spray arms. It comes in white, black or red.

  • Brand: Kostch
  • Capacity: 15 place settings
  • Noise level: 45 dB
  • Wash programs: 8
  • Dimensions: 22.63 in deep, 23.88 in wide and 33.88 in high
  • Weight: 82.7 lb

DFI776XXLSOF dishwasher

The DFI776XXLSOF offers 17 place settings across 3 racks, more room than the 15 place settings of the Kenmore Elite 2214685 dishwasher. It includes a water softener, useful if you have hard water.

Cleaning relies on 10 spray zones across 2 spray arms, backed by the Super Cleaning System+ and a jet spray. The Kenmore Elite 2214685 dishwasher has 3 spray arms.

Turbo Combi Drying and a heated dry option handle drying. You also get 15 wash cycles, a self-cleaning program, delay start, Aqua Safe, Kid Safe and Sabbath mode.

It carries ENERGY STAR and uses 220 kWh per year, less than the 240 kWh of the Sharp SDY6768SMS dishwasher.

It is panel ready, runs on 120 V and has touch controls. The warranty is 2 years, shorter than the 3 years on parts and labor for the Kostch KOS-24DWH06H dishwasher.

Its main limits are its 100 lb weight and its 2 spray arms. It suits households with hard water that want 3 racks and 17 place settings.

  • Brand: Generic
  • Capacity: 17 place settings
  • Dimensions: 21 in deep, 23 in wide and 33 in high
  • Voltage: 120 V
  • Energy use: 220 kWh/year
  • Weight: 100 lb

Frequently asked questions

The questions that decide a large-capacity purchase come down to measurement, fit and how full the machine will actually run.

How many place settings do I need for a family of four?

Aim for at least 12, and up to 15 or 16 when you want one cycle to cover a dinner party plus the pots. The rating assumes standard-size dishes, so a mixed load of dinner plates, tall bowls and sheet pans uses about 10 to 15% more room than the number suggests.

What is the largest-capacity dishwasher?

The highest rating on this page is 17 place settings, on the DFI776XXLSOF, followed by 16 on the Sharp SDY6768SMS. Cubic-foot figures are self-reported usable-volume claims and are not comparable across brands, so compare place settings first.

Is 16 place settings the biggest I can buy?

No. The DFI776XXLSOF on this page is rated at 17 place settings in a 24-inch built-in. An 18-inch slim machine tops out lower, and a drawer machine is rated per drawer, so two drawers do not give you one full-tub load.

Does a third rack actually add capacity?

Only if it is deep and has its own jets, because then it holds mugs and short glasses that would otherwise sit in the upper basket. A flat tray mostly reorganizes cutlery. A deep rack also takes height from the basket below it, so check that tall glasses still fit.

Can a large dishwasher hold sheet pans and stockpots?

Yes, if you load them at the edges and at the back rather than flat across the lower spray arm. Keep the lower spray arm clear: a stockpot set upside down at the side of the basket still gets washed, while a sheet pan laid flat across the middle blocks the water and leaves the whole lower basket with nothing.

Is a large-capacity dishwasher worth it for two people?

Usually not. A smaller machine that fills up each cycle is the better match for that rhythm.